Hundreds of Victorian teachers have been recognised for their dedication to public education, acknowledged for 40, 45, 50 and 55 years of service at the Recognition of Service to Victorian Education awards this week.

Member for Werribee is pleased to congratulate a number of local educators for their long-standing service to public education.

  • Principal Kurt Butyn from Werribee Secondary School has been recognised for his 50 years of service to education.
  • Heather Chatterton from Thomas Chirnside Primary School and Jeffrey Kerry from Suzanne Corry High School were both recognised for 45 years of service.
  • Linda Attard from Westgrove Primary School, Paul Bryne from Suzanne Cory High School and Monica Cooper from Warringa Park School were all recognised for 40 years of Service.

This is a total contribution of 260 years of service for education in the Werribee community.

Combined, the 398 total recipients have devoted more than 17,000 years to teaching, led progress and embraced opportunities to help young people thrive.

The Andrews Labor Government’s Education State is making sure all students are supported by capable educators, so they can stay in school and learn the skills they need for the future.

Quotes attributable to Minister for Education James Merlino

“From blackboard, to whiteboard, to smartboard, these recipients have inspired curiosity and helped students thrive over many decades.”

“Whether they worked in front of a classroom or in an office supporting schools, everyone recognised Recognition of Service to Victorian Education awards has helped deliver a great education to thousands of Victorian kids.”

Quotes attributable to Member for Werribee Tim Pallas

 “I wish to congratulate all teachers recognised for their many years of service. Their commitment and dedication for education has been felt by generations of young students within the community”.